Austria Gp

5 min read Jul 02, 2024
Austria Gp

Austria GP: A Thrilling F1 Racing Experience

The Austria GP, also known as the Austrian Grand Prix, is a Formula One motor racing event held at the Red Bull Ring in Spielberg, Austria. The race has a rich history, dating back to 1963, and has been a part of the Formula One World Championship since 2014.

History of Austria GP

The first Austrian Grand Prix was held in 1963 at the Zeltweg Airfield, a former airbase in Styria, Austria. The race was won by Lorenzo Bandini driving a Ferrari. The event was discontinued in 1964 due to safety concerns and financial issues. However, in 1970, the race was revived at the Österreichring circuit, where it was held until 1987.

After a 10-year hiatus, the Austrian Grand Prix returned to the Formula One calendar in 1997 at the A1-Ring, a new circuit built on the site of the old Österreichring. The race was held until 2003, when it was dropped from the calendar again due to financial issues.

In 2014, the Austrian Grand Prix made a comeback to the Formula One calendar, this time at the Red Bull Ring, a renovated and upgraded version of the A1-Ring circuit. Since then, the race has been a regular fixture on the Formula One calendar.

The Red Bull Ring

The Red Bull Ring, located in Spielberg, Austria, is a 4.326-kilometer-long circuit that features 10 turns, including 3 high-speed corners and 7 low-speed corners. The circuit is known for its picturesque surroundings, with the Austrian Alps providing a stunning backdrop to the racing action.

The circuit has a capacity for over 150,000 spectators, making it one of the largest F1 venues in terms of attendance. The track is also known for its challenging layout, with a mix of fast straights and slow corners that require a good balance of speed and handling.

Past Winners of Austria GP

Here are some of the past winners of the Austria GP:

  • 2014: Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
  • 2015: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
  • 2016: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
  • 2017: Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)
  • 2018: Max Verstappen (Red Bull Racing)
  • 2019: Max Verstappen (Red Bull Racing)
  • 2020: Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)

Future of Austria GP

The Austrian Grand Prix has become a popular event on the Formula One calendar, attracting a large crowd of passionate fans. The race has a contract to remain on the calendar until at least 2027, ensuring that the Austria GP will continue to be a thrilling F1 racing experience for years to come.

In conclusion, the Austria GP is a must-attend event for any Formula One fan, offering a unique combination of scenic surroundings, challenging track layout, and high-speed racing action. If you haven't already, mark your calendars for the next Austria GP and get ready to experience the thrill of F1 racing!

Featured Posts